If I could be in two places at the same time I’d want to be on earth and in heaven. Because I would still be one person with one consciousness, I imagine that both places would sort of merge into each other in front of your eyes.

I decided to make a stained glass window to execute my idea. This goes well with the heaven-theme. Also by making it into a window you can still see the world behind the art-work. I think this adds to the idea of being in to places at once.

img_4705
Work drawing
img_4708
The drawing is placed under the glass on a light table, which makes it able to see the drawing once you put paint on the glass. I chose brown tined glass and made a transparent coat of brown and black paint. Than, with the same colour, I made the contour lines.
img_4717
Me working on the first layer.

 

img_4714

 

In the oven

img_4721
Second layer. Putting a layer of paint over the whole surface for shading. When the paint is dry, you can scrape away what you don’t need.

fullsizeoutput_a7f

img_4724
Working on the final layer: adding colour.

 

fullsizeoutput_a82
After three times in the oven, my image is done.

Now it can be turned into a window!

 

