This text was originally written in Dutch, Dutch version below.


When we meet you will first ask me for my name.
I will tell you that I am called Inge van der Wal en than I will ask for yours.
You will also tell your name.
This exchange of names will be followed by an exchange of more facts.
I will tell you that I live in Enschede but come from Kollumerzwaag.
I will reply to your questioning look with ‘that’s in Frisia’, whereafter I will hope that you won’t ask me to say something in Frisian.

Maybe we will than ask each other for our hobbies.
I will tell you about my love for everything art related and I will probably tell something about my horses.
We won’t mention all the small and bigger things that make us happy.
For that, we don’t know each other well enough.

Maybe, over time, we become close friends and outgrow the stage of superficiality, realizing that friendship is more than hobbies and shared interests.
That will challenge us to get to know the person that is behind the masks that each of us puts on daily.

I would like to get to know you,
and I challenge you to really get to know me.

Sincerely,

Inge van der Wal

Maskers-003
Introduction to metal and photography at ArtEZ.

Dutch version:

Beste toekomstige vriend,

Als wij elkaar ontmoeten zul je me allereerst vragen naar mijn naam.
Ik zal je vertellen dat ik Inge het en daarna zal ik de jouwe vragen.
Ook jij zult je naam vertellen.
Deze uitwisseling van namen zal gevolgd worden door een uitwisseling van meer feitjes.
Ik zal je vertellen dat ik 19 jaar oud ben en dat ik in Enschede woon, maar uit Kollumerzwaag kom.
Je vragende blik zal ik beantwoorden met ‘dat ligt in Friesland’, waarna ik zal hopen dat je me niet zult vragen om iets in het Fries te zeggen.

Misschien vragen we elkaar dan naar onze hobbies.
Ik zal je vertellen over mijn liefde voor alles wat met kunst te maken heeft en ook vertel ik je waarschijnlijk iets over mijn paarden.
Over alle kleine en grotere dingen die ons gelukkig maken zullen we het niet hebben.
Daarvoor kennen we elkaar te kort.

Misschien worden we in de loop van de tijd goede vrienden en ontgroeien we het stadium van oppervlakkigheid, realiserend dat vriendschap meer is dan hobbies en gedeelde interesses.
Dat zal ons uitdagen om de persoon te leren kennen die schuilgaat achter de maskers die we dagelijks opzetten.

Ik zou je graag leren kennen,
en daag je uit om mij echt te leren kennen

Groet,

Inge van der Wal

 

 

